One of the men in [fan organization] is kind of a ‘splainer.

Not in the classic way.  He didn’t say anything that’s definitely incorrect.  But I told him I majored in chemistry, and he felt the need to make the conversation all about his opinions and ideas about chemistry.  He was all self-deprecating, “This isn’t my field and I’m sure you know much more about it than I do,” but he still talked at me for a good fifteen minutes about how awesome chemistry is, and problems that in his opinion chemistry ought to solve.  I didn’t talk much, because he didn’t really give me anything specific to respond to, and I didn’t want to end up saying “That would be cool, but I don’t think there’s any way to do it” in too rude a way.  And then I told him that I studied Spanish and almost minored in it, so he told me how the restaurant Chichi’s actually means Tits.

It’s kind of subtle, but do you see what I mean?  He kept taking me knowing things– knowing more than he did about a subject, in fact– as a cue to tell me about what he knew, rather than ask me something.

 

P.S.  [Fan organization] is generally pretty awesome, and I’m proud to be a part of it, but I’m not going to tell you what it is because my real name is online associated with some of their stuff.

Leave a Reply

