Sparkly has been having the genders again.

And ey asked me to write something about em with netural pronouns so here I am. (A brief moment of my feelings: as far as I’m concerned this is a GREAT THING because em being any more comfortable with eirself is a great thing.)

P.S. Sparkly if you’d rather I use a different neutral pronoun for these occasions, just let me know.

So uh hm. Life is pretty good lately. Sparkly’s midterms went well and now ey’s on break, except that ey has an online assignment to do. Eir professor decided to cancel the assignment that’s “for” the week of break but due after break, instead of cancelling the one that’s due now. So ey’s reading about various embarrassing and/or criminal things lawyers have done, in the name of learning about “professional responsibility”.

Sparkly hasn’t been able to see Numbers Guy as much lately, and ey’s really missing him. Ey was really frustrated today, because he was going to pick em up and ey was going to stay the night with him, but he found out at the last minute that he has to do something early tomorrow morning. So he cancelled, and Sparkly’s plans to do eir hair really fancy were spoiled.

We still dyed it, though, because ey’s been meaning to do that for ages. Now it’s a sliiiightly darker and more reddish orange than it is naturally. I think it’s gorgeous either way.

Maybe I was supposed to actually talk about gender things, as well as use neutral pronouns, but I don’t really know what to say. Yesterday Sparkly was talking about feeling bad because of the whole “androgyny=women with short hair and masculine clothes” thing, because that’s really not eir style and it’s shitty to feel like you have to look a certain way to have your identity taken seriously. But apart from that, I don’t really know what the state of the gender is for em right now, other than that ey still doesn’t want to talk about it with anyone else we know. I don’t like to ask em about it too much. I don’t want to make em feel any worse, or push em to explain things ey doesn’t feel settled about yet.

——–

This is something I’ve been meaning to say here for a while, so since I’m here sort of talking about gender. A while ago Sparkly said something about how strange it would be to be with someone who was genderfluid. So just to head off any possible bad thoughts: Yeah, it would take some adjusting to. I’ve known a few genderfluid people, but I haven’t really been close friends with any of them, so I don’t really have a basis to know what it would be like. But I don’t think it would bother me. I think I could adjust to it. It would take a lot of communicating, but it certainly wouldn’t be bad. Switching roles in other ways isn’t a problem at all. I don’t think this would be, either.

Leave a Reply

