Well that was a thing

I follow a couple of people on Tumblr who also read the webcomic Gunnerkrigg Court and, by occasionally posting reactions to new pages, remind me to actually read the new pages as they come out.

Currently some bullshit is happening in which the main character’s father (who enrolled her in a boarding school and then vanished, not telling her where he was going or how to contact him, for several years) has returned and is trying to control her life. (Start here, at the time I’m talking about there were about four more pages after that one.)

And I did a thing.

I read the new pages and was all calm like Oh, okay, he’s taking a hard line because he just got here and he has to make a strong start, don’t let it get to you, wait til tomorrow and see how much you can get back.

And then I go to Tumblr and these wonderful people I follow are raging over how horrible and abusive her father is being.

And they’re absolutely right. I was just too busy having a coping mechanism to think about that.

Oops.

Leave a Reply

