i THINK BEFORE I SAY SHIT how FUCKING WEIRD AM I

dealing with people’s snark and overstatements and thoughtless shit is stressful and I feel helpless and weird because my ideal solution is DON’T GIVE SNARKY OFF-THE-CUFF ANSWERS TO SERIOUS QUESTIONS, either take some time and give an answer you can stand behind, or make it clear that it’s not a super shiny answer you’re 100% confident in, or don’t answer.

The problem isn’t actually with what anyone meant, it’s mostly with context and tone and argument vs discussion and taking things as Absolute Statements that aren’t, and it is so frustrating to try to manage aspects of a conversation that I have no real words for. If we could shift this from the cognitive space of “answering anonymous questions from someone who might be a troll” to “thinking out an answer in a discussion between
equals”–

Why aren’t there words for these things.

I feel like I see what needs to be done but I’m just not so magical with words that I can find the perfect thing to say that would definitely fix it and not make things worse. But I’m trying, so I’m getting frustrated.

Leave a Reply

