I really need someone to geek out about music with me

Sparkly had the radio tuned to a current pop station, so I found myself listening to the song “Love me like you do” by Ellie Goulding. A lot of it, to be honest, sounds kind of boring and repetitive, but then it does a thing. I’m blanking on the proper name for this thing, but there’s a part where the music changes in a way that reflects the meaning of the lyrics very directly. I think “word painting” is what my director used to call that. Anyway, she sings “I’m not thinking straight, my head is spinning round,” and instead of a very straightforward pattern like the rest of the song, it’s two-beat triplets. Literally not a straight rhythm. The end of that section is kind of “hemiola at the cadence”-y, even.

I mean, take this with a grain of salt, because I’m much worse at listening to something and figuring out what it would look like written down than I am at reading music. But something cool happens there.

Leave a Reply

