Just had a thought re: writing

The fact that I think one of my writing styles is very similar to the style of an author I like. That should probably be more meaningful to me than it is. Like, you would expect that to inspire me to write more in that style? And it doesn’t at all.

I’m just not interested? in writing things like that?

I guess I associate my wordy talky colloquial style with nonfiction, and with trying to be accessible and easy to understand. So even knowing that plenty of other people like to read stories where the narrator’s voice is like that, and even knowing that I enjoy stories where the narrator’s voice is like that, still doesn’t really make it interesting to me.

The kind of writing I both like and want to emulate is much more poetic and metaphorical. That kind of style is more personal and more emotional for me, and I usually feel like I have to make it clearer and less metaphorical to allow other people to understand it. So the idea of being able to keep that style is more exciting to me.

Leave a Reply

