Instead of spoiling someone’s advice post

(a lovely advice post about letting intrusve thoughts just pass you by and saying “How about no, that’s a bad idea”)

I’ll say this here.

I have… a fair amount? I don’t actually know how much is normal… of intrusive thoughts, of the “I could do [dangerous thing] right now. Why don’t I do that?” type, and I don’t think I’ve ever found them upsetting or scary.

I think I’ve said before that I never spent much time looking for advice about dealing with anxiety, because all the advice I found was either obviously wrong for me, or something I was already doing. This advice is in that second category. It never occurred to me to do anything else with my intrusive thoughts than think “no, I won’t do that” and continue on with my day.
And if it needs to be said, I don’t think this makes me extra awesome at dealing with anxiety or something like that. I think it’s weird and I’m wondering why these thoughts never bothered me.

Leave a Reply

