Still sorta sick.

Random thought of the day: Eff Rothmer from The Thirteenth Child is the first fictional character I really identified with.

[I mean “identify with” in the sense that’s interchangeable with “relate to,” if that’s unclear, not “identify as” meaning “I literally am this thing.”]

I liked lots of characters as people, and I was invested in their stories, but I didn’t tend to think any of them were like me.¬†I related to fictional characters as if they were separate people, friends maybe, but separate people.

And honestly I’m not sure if there is a second fictional character I identify with yet.

I could write about why Eff and not anybody else, but that would take a while and I’m still not feeling 100%.

Leave a Reply

