There’s a person on Tumblr

who I don’t follow but whose posts I’ve come across a few times. They like to talk about how (their particular experience of) autistic issues with empathy-ish things are actually a blessing, because their “lack” of certain kinds of empathy means they aren’t vulnerable to emotional manipulation.

Small justified complaint: They call this THE autistic problem with empathy, which… it’s not? There isn’t one single way autistic people experience empathy. They shouldn’t talk like their experiences are The Way Things Are for everyone.

Feelings that aren’t a proper complaint:

I know that they’re trying to deal with the truly awful things people say about people who “lack” empathy. I’m sure turning it into a positive helps them. And regardless, autistic people talking about our actual experiences is a good thing. I get it. I do.

But it pisses me off because here’s this person saying “I don’t fall for your silly manipulation, I’m so awesome, go me” and here I am feeling so vulnerable.

I’m not even sure if the kind of manipulation they’re talking about is the kind I actually am vulnerable to! But it bothers me!

Leave a Reply

