It really fucking sucks

that the average person’s idea of what meditation is is so overwhelmingly defined by clueless New Age-y people either in real life or in fiction. And I feel silly talking about it, because (a) I really really don’t want to downplay the harm those clueless people do by e.g. treating it as a panacea for every problem and pestering people to try it, and (b) I don’t even know That much about it, but, I don’t think it’s a joke? And it bugs me that so many people do.

Leave a Reply

