Going to Yom Kippur services with Sparkly, part 2

  • I got to participate in the wonderful familiar tradition of holding out your book so your neighbor can see what page to turn to. Though to be fair to them the rabbis were pretty good about mentioning page numbers every so often. “Now, we’ll continue on page 283 with the prayer for…”
  • Sparkly and I had different editions of the prayer book. The main differences appeared to be:
    • removing gendered language– uses of men/man/mankind for people/humankind, and also all gendered language referring to God, including things I don’t normally think of as gendered like “kingdom”. I mean, IRL when a country that’s a monarchy has a woman inherit the throne, you call her a queen but you don’t start calling the country a queendom? But the editors of this book chose to remove “kingdom” and replace it with… “sovereignty”, I think, usually. I don’t remember.
    • leaving more hebrew terms untranslated in the english translations.
  • Trying to gauge which songs are traditional (and which were the jewish equivalent of the kind of christian music I don’t like) based on how many people sang along and how enthusiastically they did it, was interesting.
  • It is totally possible to follow along on the english translation with the cantors singing in hebrew. They put enough emphasis on the Important Words most of the time that with the english translation in front of you, you can guess which part of it they’re singing. A+ work.
  • There was a bit from genesis in which I actually recognized a phrase I knew the meaning of in the middle of the hebrew, because I remembered the pastor at my parents’ church talking about it. That was cool.
  • I was told to wear white and several jewish people I know online were talking about struggling to put together white outfits, and then I got there and saw… maybe three people, all day, who’d made any serious attempt at wearing all-white. (There were, however, several more people wearing not-white-at-all suits with sneakers to observe the thing about not wearing leather shoes.) That was kind of confusing, but it did make me feel better about the severe lack of white clothes in my wardrobe. Also my shoes look like leather but they’re definitely not actual leather and I don’t know where that falls on the thing.
  • I don’t know how I feel about the concept of fasting. On one hand if I was jewish & had to decide between fasting and saying that I Can’t For Health Reasons, I would probably hesitate to say I had any Real health reasons? On the other hand…
    • Low blood sugar affects me pretty badly, not only in terms of, like, physical weakness.dizziness/etc. but also in terms of emotional regulation, which is un-fun
    • All my mental associations with not eating are bad (executive function fail, emetophobia anxiety). I wasn’t raised in a tradition that does fasting (although some christians do) so I don’t really have a positive frame for it to compete with the negative one, either. I think it would take a lot to move away from thinking of not eating/skipping meals as A Bad Thing To Do.
Leave a Reply

